Firehouse 12 • 45 Crown Street • New Haven, CT 06510 • 203.785.0468

Lisa Moore - Moving Mountains
Part of the 2015 Firehouse 12 Rental Events
Thursday, June 4, 2015
8:00p $20 The on-line box office is closed.
Please call (203) 785-0468 for tickets.
Login to Add this Event to Your Calendar

[Click on the performer for more information]

Lisa Moore : piano

“Moving Mountains” features pianist Lisa Moore, “New York’s queen of avant-garde piano,” (The New Yorker) premiering two major commissions, by NYC Composer Stephen Cabell and Netherlands-based Australian composer Kate Moore. Works by John Luther Adams, and Kettle Corn composer Chris Rogerson will round out the program.

Stephen Cabell’s massive Three Movements for Piano had been in the works since 2009, and Kettle Corn New Music commissioned the completion of it for this premiere performance. The work conjures evocative musical landscapes, from its watery chromatic opening movement Murmuration, to the sparkling diatonicism of its central movement Night Music, to its colorful closing movement Everest. Kate Moore’s Sliabh beagh (named after a mountainous region bordering several counties in Ireland), an exploration of the composer’s Irish roots, was commissioned by Lisa Moore and features a singing part for the pianist. Scheduled for Australian premiere on the Canberra International Festival of Music in May, this Kettle Corn New Music performance will mark its US Premiere.

Grabbing attention as a “promising new series” in 2012-2013 (I Care If You Listen), Kettle Corn New Music is quickly developing a listenership based on curatorial flair and youthful artistic passion, building its reputation around producing contemporary classical performances “with all of the prestige but none of the pomp” (Feast of Music), while maintaining artistic integrity by programming established masterworks, living classics and American premieres.


John Luther Adams (b. 1953) Among Red Mountains (2001)
Chris Rogerson (b. 1988) Noble Pond (2008)
Kate Moore (b.1979)Sliabh Beagh (2015) US PREMIERE
Stephen Cabell (b. 1984) Three Movements for Piano (2014) WORLD PREMIERE 1. Murmuration 2. Night Music 3. Everest]

Return to Calendar
45 Crown Street / New Haven, CT 06510 / 203-785-0468 © Copyright 2017 Firehouse12. All rights reserved