Firehouse 12  45 Crown Street  New Haven, CT 06510  203.785.0468

Wayne Escoffery Quintet
Part of the 2013 Spring Jazz Series
Friday, April 26, 2013
8:30p $18 The on-line box office is closed.
Please call (203) 785-0468 for tickets.
10:00p $12 The on-line box office is closed.
Please call (203) 785-0468 for tickets.
Login to Add this Event to Your Calendar

[Click on the performer for more information]

Jason Brown
Orrin Evans : piano
Rachel Z : keyboards
Rashaan Carter
Wayne Escoffery : tenor sax

WEscoffery300dpiphoto.jpg [3.85 mb]

On Friday, April 26th, Firehouse 12 is pleased to welcome saxophonist Wayne Escoffery and his quintet featuring Orrin Evans, Rashaan Carter, Jason Brown, and Rachel Z. The group will be performing music from Escoffery's 2012 release The Only Son Of One (Sunnyside Records). The music chronicles his life as a young boy leaving England with his mother to start a new life in the US.

Wayne Escoffery was called "one of the best tenor-men under 40" (Curtis Davenport, Jazz Inside). Chris Robinson of Downbeat wrote "Escoffery's playing is impassioned and intense" and Raul D'Gama of All About Jazz wrote "not since the works of bassist Charles Mingus and saxophonist John Coltrane has there been music so charged with emotion and so engulfed in spirituality."

Escoffery earned a Bachelor's degree from the Hartt School of Music, having been granted a full scholarship by his mentor at Hartt, the late Jackie McLean. He went on to earn a Master's degree from New England Conservatory. From there he moved to New York and has gone on to appear as a sideman with a broad range of artists including Eric Reed, Lonnie Plaxico, Abdullah Ibrahim, and Joe Locke. In addition to his own groups, he also performs with the Mingus Big Band and Ben Riley's Monk Legacy Septet.

Find out more about Wayne Escoffery here:

Return to Calendar
45 Crown Street / New Haven, CT 06510 / 203-785-0468 © Copyright 2017 Firehouse12. All rights reserved